Some good things

I am suffering through the second day of one of the worst headaches I’ve ever had in my life. This is the type of headache you go to bed with and you can still feel it while you sleep. Horrible, horrible stuff. Before people start freaking out and I have EMTs show up at my house let me say its all due to stress! Ok, anyway so as I’m trying to make my way through this headache and keep from snapping my children in two I thought I should bake something and share. I will share but I didn’t bake this (and really its for my sister, Ms. As is home) also if you don’t really like to bake stop reading……..now:
Strawberry Pillows
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3 3oz packages cream cheese softened
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 10oz jar strawberry (pick your fav) preserves
1/2 cup walnuts
1 egg beaten
Early in day: into bowl measure flour, cream cheese, and butter. With mixer at low speed, beat ingredients until well mixed, occasionally scraping sides w/ spatula. Cover and chill at least 1 hr. While waiting prepare filling: in small bowl stir preserves and nuts; set aside.
To bake: preheat oven to 450° F divide dough in half. Refrigerate one half. On well floured surface, roll with rolling pin, thinly roll out dough into large rectangle. Cut into small rectangles 3″ by 2″. Place1/2 tsp of filling close to 2 inch end of fold of each rectangle. Fold dough over filling bringing ends together, with a fork dipped in flour press edges together. Brush with egg and place on cookie sheet. Bake 12 minutes or until golden brown. Place cookies on wire rack to cool. Reroll trimings for more cookies. Makes about 3 1/2 dozen.
Happy baking 🙂 p.s. there are some easier recipes for this on the web but this one is in one of my old school cookbooks and it seemed easier to do than the others I found. Again happy baking.

One thought on “Some good things

Leave a Reply

