Who are you?

I read a book the first full day of my summer break that got me thinking – do we as people really know who we are?

It’s so easy to say I’m this and I’m that but who are you really when no one else is around peering at your every action? When you know no one is going to judge you for what you say and do are you the same person? It’s no easy task to find the balance between who people think you should be,  who you want to be and who you really are.

Most people spend their entire lives trying to answer that one burning question…….Who am I? Do I like who I am? Do I like what I do? In an attempt to find the answer we try on all sorts of different hats trying to find the one (or ones) that fit just right. In this process though some of us put on hats that don’t fit but we keep them anyway – the thinking is this is what people expect of me which is all well and good but what do you expect from yourself. When all the others are gone away taking off their masks do you like what you find behind your own. Can you really look your mirrored image in the eye and say I am you and you are me just how I’ve always wanted to be?

If so wonderful job done! If not why not take the time to really connect with yourself, find out exactly who you are and then make whatever changes feesable to be the best you you can be. The true unaltered you that you drempt of being in your youth or the person you set out to be in early adulthood. When you connect with that person you will no longer feel a need for the pretence that comes with being fake. At some point you have to stand on your own two feet and support your own weight which is a heck of a lot easier to do when you at least like yourself to begin with.

This is not a one time thing either change happens,  people grow and they learn new things all I’m urging is in the midst of trying on these new hats don’t get sucked into what all your friends or family say about it. Really think before you incorparate something new into yourself…..when I make this change will it fit me? Will it fit who I am? Or who I want to be?

Just some food for thought.

Leave a Reply

