To my back….

Dear back,

I would like to take a moment out of my day to publicly say thank you for all that you have done. You have been my major support for 38 years and goodness knows I’ve put you in some interesting positions and done some less than stellar things to you but you’ve been a real trooper and hung in there with me. You’ve been kicked from the inside and outside, poorly supported or not supported at all, you’ve been poked, prodded, had your picture taken quite a few times and had needles put in you. All of this you have done with grace hard to find anywhere else on earth.

I can understand your frustration with me. You’ve never really asked me for much and yet I’ve chosen to ignore you for years unless you put up a major fuss and then I gave you just the minimum of what you needed to make sure that you were better. I guess our current situation is your way of saying enough is enough. I get it. You need a better mattress to sleep on, one that will offer more support, you would like for me to exercise more again to give you more support. It might also help if I would sit up straight and maybe not put so much stress and strain on you. Just one small problem though…… While you are having this temper tantrum I’m not able to do any of these things. Every time I think you’re just about done with this epic fit your having you let me know that you’re just at the beginning of your laundry list of complaints against me.

I want us to remain friends. I do need you, you’re central to my everyday life and well being. Without you I would just be a mess so can we please just get over this and go back to being friends? I promise this time I will be the very best friend that I can possibly be but I need for you to get better. This is a give and take relationship I can only give you as much as you are able to take and vice versa. I miss the good times we’ve had together and I’m looking forward to seeing you in top shape again.

Well I guess that’s about all I have to say for now. I’ll give you some time to think this over….please don’t take to long though. There’s a lot that needs to be done and we’ve got a long road ahead of us. The sooner we kiss and make up the sooner we can be a good fit again.

With love,

The rest of me

One thought on “To my back….

Leave a Reply

