Remembering to not let go

image

My cousin made this shortly after the death of our Grandfather. I told her that I would also like one so she gave this to me. It’s hung in various places in my home….currently its taken up residence in my bedroom window. Today I opened up my blinds to let some light in and this is what I found…..the sun shining through my Grandpa. It made me remember things long forgotten like the warmth of his smile and how infectious his laugh could be. The way he would move at a pace that seemed to be his own but still manage to get everything done. My parents divorced when I was a teen and I didn’t see my dads side of the family much after that. In recent years we’ve reconnected and have spent some time together although not as much as any of us would like…..today, right now actually, as I’m sitting here struggling to write this I’m remembering that I need to not forget the ties that bind and make us a family. I’m remembering that at the end of it all family is what’s most important and that when those close to you (or those who were close to you) die the only thing left are memories….old and faded or new and vibrant so its better to make memorues while there is time. Thank you Jacqui and Grandpa Hoover for giving me something to hold on to while I finally begin to grieve and for allowing me this time to reflect.

Leave a Reply

