On being grown up

I am 38 which to most means I’m a grown up. I have responsibilities and people that I have to make sure I provide for but I’m not a grown up on the inside. I like to play and do super fun things with my kiddos, I like to keep myself young and not take myself to seriously. To my way of thinking the minute you start taking yourself super seriously and start putting yourself before others is the minute you start loosing your youth. I don’t ever want to get to a point where I can’t laugh at myself, stop learning or stop having fun…. In other words I don’t want to be a grown up. Yeah, it’s my label but its not my life. I’m still exploring just who I am and where I fit into this giant puzzle people call life. From what I’ve been told knowing where you fit in and finding your special niche is part of being grown up if that’s really a parameter I’m still just a kid. I’m still in college, still exploring where I wanna go and who I want to be. I want to be a nurse and maybe a hairstylist and maybe a make up artist and maybe a chef or a baker and…..and…….and….there are so many things to do be and explore I don’t want to be tied down to just one. Is that a sign of a grown up? Yeah I didn’t think so.

Maybe all of this is just to say being a grown up is a mental process. It’s what you think you are or believe yourself to be and right now today I declare I’m not a grown up!

Leave a Reply

